Thursday, December 25, 2008

Former Caps invade KHL All-Star game and Team Jagr

On January 10th, the best the KHL has to offer will drop the puck in Red Square for the league's first All-Star game.

Featuring a unique format of "Team Jagr" vs. "Team Yashin", captained by said players, the KHL held fan balloting to determine the rosters.

The results are in and Team Jagr is the KHL's equivalent to the Tampa Bay Lightning regarding how many former Caps will be playing.

Without futher delay, I present your former Capitals! Team Jagr!

"GOALTENDERS: Robert Esche (SKA St. Petersburg) 32,712. Ray Emery (Atlant Mytishchi) 24,160. Rostislav Stana (Severstal Cherepovets) 3,500.

DEFENSEMEN: Ray Giroux (SKA) 28,548. Kevin Dallman (Barys Astana) 26,869. Ben Clymer (Dinamo Minsk) 24,161. Magnus Johansson (Atlant) 11,353. Karel Rachunek (Dinamo Moscow) 10,707. Mark Popovic (SKA) 9,426. Miroslav Blatak (Salavat Yulaev Ufa) 9,323. Rodrigo Lavins (Dinamo Riga) 6,275. Filip Novak (Dinamo Riga) 6,226. Joel Kwiatkowski (Severstal) 2,197.

FORWARDS: Pavel Brendl (Torpedo Nizhny Novgorod) 41,570. Tony Martensson (Ak Bars Kazan) 35,266. Jan Marek (Metallurg Magnitogorsk) 34,032. Oleg Antonenko (HK MVD Balashikha) 31,167. Alexei Kalyuzhny (Dinamo Moscow) 30,620. Nils Ekman (SKA) 18,159. Jaromir Jagr (Avangard Omsk) excluded from ballot. Marcel Hossa (Dinamo Riga) excl. Jakub Klepis (Avangard) excl."

It should also be noted that former Capital Andrei Nikolishin will be a member of "Team Yashin."

What an honor for these Caps and especially Joel Kwiatkowski, after all he was JP's "Cap of the Day," and now he's an All-Star. What a guy!


Calling it now. Team Yashin will destroy Team Jagr.

1 comment:

  1. I think "destroy" will be kinda disparaging...

    And I'm totally shocked that Fedorov won't be playing there... 9 points and 48 penalty minutes in 18 games is good, right?


Technorati Profile